Author Topic: I started writing a story  (Read 573 times)

I started writing this story with a modern post-nuclear war setting and I would like some constructive criticism. This is my first time doing something like this, so I just need some feedback from you guys. Here we go.

The old school on the edge of town was deathly quiet. The teacher was at the front of the room, near the chalkboard, eyes gazing out at the sea of students. The children were in their chairs, completely silent. There was an eerie stillness about the place. A cold breeze blew in from the open window, which was providing a decent amount of light. This was quite fortunate, as today it appeared the fluorescent lights were not working.

I looked over at one student to find a phone clasped in his hand. I quickly ran over to the teacher. I hoisted her skeleton up and worked her mouth with my hand like a puppet. "Billy, put away that phone this instant!" I mimed in a woman's voice. A nearby explosion rocked the building, and the phone clasped in Billy's skeletal fingers fell on the floor, as did the rest of Billy.
   "Damn artillery," I thought. I stood at the front of the class and announced that I was leaving school for the day. In my head, the voices of the students played, and I heard them moaning about how lucky I was to be leaving early. I grabbed my handgun off of the teacher's desk and walked over to the door, kicking it off of its one rusted hinge on my way out.