Author Topic: Using Python, how do I send data from client to server?  (Read 682 times)

I'm studying networking in Python, i'm highly beginner at networking, but I do have experience in general python. How do I send data from client to the server? Here is some code that I found:

Server
Code: [Select]
#!/usr/bin/python           # This is server.py file

import socket               # Import socket module

s = socket.socket()         # Create a socket object
host = socket.gethostname() # Get local machine name
port = 12346                # Reserve a port for your service.
s.bind((host, port))        # Bind to the port
s.listen(5)                 # Now wait for client connection.
while True:
   c, addr = s.accept()     # Establish connection with client.
   print 'Got connection from', addr
   c.send('Thank you for connecting')
   c.close()                # Close the connection

Client
Code: [Select]
#!/usr/bin/python           # This is client.py file

import socket               # Import socket module

s = socket.socket()
# Create a socket object
host = socket.gethostname() # Get local machine name
port = 12346                # Reserve a port for your service.

s.connect((host, port))
print s.recv(1024)
s.close                     # Close the socket when done

I just want the client to send a message to the server, and for it print in the server console. Please help.

ht tp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t348e24vDyA&lc=z6kypGcF3BLOIDNHwyNrnYiYHqnXVjjRgYxSObxRVpU

User was banned for this post
« Last Edit: February 11, 2013, 06:12:56 PM by Badspot »

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t348e24vDyA&lc=z6kypGcF3BLOIDNHwyNrnYiYHqnXVjjRgYxSObxRVpU

Good post bro.

Networking seems like it's super complicated to normal programming. Even like managing a network with software seems pretty complicated.

Networking seems like it's super complicated to normal programming. Even like managing a network with software seems pretty complicated.