In need of idea people (weapons and art style)

Author Topic: In need of idea people (weapons and art style)  (Read 1936 times)

For me it's pretty hard to both work and come up with ideas at the same time. I can only do one or the other, sadly. And I'm also no artist. So because of that I'm in a bit of a dilemma. I've modeled a bunch of different weapons and the point is to come up with an ideal style that fits in with default weapons.
 Default weapons themselves are inconsistent, though - the rocket launcher has an extrusion that has a octagonal black face for the muzzle with no depth, the tank turret has a muzzle with actual depth, and the gun just has a black barrel. This poses a problem for me because I constantly question what should be allowed and what should be avoided while I model.
 So I experimented with different designs, and I'm debating what would fit and what would not fit:

The textures look funny because they're meant to be flatshaded so that they're colorshifted in-game. For example. the textures black25, black50, etc. all look black in the picture but the black50 would be darker in game.
 On my p3d.in I have a bunch of other models that you could take a better look at too.
 What I want out of this is to filter out what makes a model appeal to the sense of "defaultness" and stem off of that. It involves all sorts of things, from proportions to the shape of the stock or trigger guard. I've thought of different philosophies as well (pretending it's supposed to be a toy, creating unique designs as if created by a blockhead, etc.) and I'd like to see what your takes would be on this as well.