Bad Dream - Texture flickering, player death, and Lights. [Help]

Author Topic: Bad Dream - Texture flickering, player death, and Lights. [Help]  (Read 1505 times)

I've been porting the map "Bad Dream" by [GSF] Ghost, and I've been having issues finding out how to have the TV screen flicker between a screen static texture and a black one.

I'm also having trouble figuring out how to make the TV screen emit light for effect, as I'm new to Torquescript stuff.

The other thing I want to do that sounds easy is have the player killed when they enter the closet, and have custom death messages for when they get killed that way.

Pictures of ported map: (Unfinished)

The original:

Another thing you should notice in the pictures is that the Lightbulb doesn't have the glow affect on it like in the original, I also would like to know how to do this as well.

For the TV screen I'd use two or three different textured models for the frames and then make a loop that switches between them

Like function tvloop(%i) { if(%i>2) {%i=0} settvmodel(%i); $tvloop = schedule(250,0,tvloop,%i+1);}

Then for settvmodel function you need to define a function with three cases, one for each model, based on the parameter. Idk about static maps so you have to figure that part out. It probably involves deleting the old TV screen model and creating a new one

For the TV screen I'd use two or three different textured models for the frames and then make a loop that switches between them

Like function tvloop(%i) { if(%i>2) {%i=0} settvmodel(%i); $tvloop = schedule(250,0,tvloop,%i+1);}

Then for settvmodel function you need to define a function with three cases, one for each model, based on the parameter. Idk about static maps so you have to figure that part out. It probably involves deleting the old TV screen model and creating a new one