Author Topic: how to successfully transfer blockland data to new computer?  (Read 906 times)

hello friends i have been playing this damn game for a long ass time and i've been hit with a PROBLEM ,,
i literally just finally made a forums account so i could post this question because i need help
(if i'm using forums incorrectly or being annoying, kindly ignore me and lmk what i'm doing wrong i'm a noob)

so here's the backstory: i haven't touched the game in a hot while because my laptop crapped out, so i saved all of my blockland files to a flashdrive and hard reset the whole computer (which worked btw). i bought and downloaded the game before it was greenlit on steam, so i had it the og version w/ the launcher app and everything. i tried to import the files from the flashdrive onto the freshly reset laptop but when i opened blockland for the first time it said "Please run the game via BlocklandLauncer.app" even though i was...

now, after a long series of events, i've reset my laptop again and from scratch i have REdownloaded blockland successfully from steam, but (obviously) it doesn't have any of my settings or files (add-on's and map saves and what not.) every time i open the game from steam, it makes me select my network type and choose default hardware configuration settings, like it does when you open the game for the first time. once i complete, it says:

"File Error. Blockland could not save your preferences." blah blah "Make sure you have copied the Blockland folder to your applications folder" (which 1. steam doesn't give u a folder and 2. i already put the game itself in the applications folder.) "and are running the game from there. Do not run the game directly from the dmg file."

so long story short i have no clue what to do to get it back the way it was :(