Author Topic: Melee weapon in progress, needing some pointers.  (Read 6630 times)

I have an interesting idea for a melee weapon -- a knife that can be swinged when in motion, or stabbing when still. I'm aiming to make my own model in Blender and to use animations from default weapons in Blockland. (The generic sword/hammer-fire for when its' swinging, and the spear charge and fire for the stabbing)

The model isn't complete, I'm going to give the blade a sharp taper on the front, and a curving profile.

Unfortunately, I have no solid or current experience with add-on making, as my previous attempts at guns from scratch have failed, and were lost.

Could anyone assist me? I would appreciate tips on Blender, how to source code from default items, or just some sort of template item, and maybe a guide on how to write for Blockland scripts? All forms of help, commentary, or critique is appreciated. I'm long overdue for an add-on contribution.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2019, 04:24:29 PM by Mr.Annoying »

And for anyone wondering, this is what I'm using as inspiration. But, I'll want to put a more Blockland-stylstic twist on it.

Minor quirks in development, but here's what I've got so far.

it looeks broken

Yeah, the model's a bit broken. Just some little funny business with blender though, it will be fixed soon.

Updated the model. It's looking a bit more triangally than I'd like. Would anyone who knows how to use Blender care to input how I can remove this? I tried Trogtor's approach, https://forum.blockland.us/index.php?topic=314929.0 but it didn't work.

On the plus side, I'm getting a good idea of how I want the weapon to be used, and I'll be going into the files soon to experiment with damage, range, and light fx.

Alpha release may be coming soon, but I still need to begin work on the stabbing feature.

So far, the knife has slicing down, the model is about finished, and custom IC and Icons have been made.