Author Topic: How to do animated Window Wipers, speedometer/tacho and steering wheel?  (Read 4889 times)

Im making a vehicle model myself (the Suzuki XL7) for BL, and im going to go to town making it as good as possible.
I may also implement these features into the other vehicles.
Only thing is, how can i make animated window wipers, an animated steering wheel and speedometer/tachometer?
can somebody explain?
Im using Blender 2.79 fyi

i have no vehicle experience but if i were to do something like this i would make each component its own bot and mount it to the right position. then each bot like (window wipers) would have an animation or whatever and can be called at will using playthread();

the main issue would be what buttons the player could press to activate these animations

The numpad (brick movement controls) like GTA SA has

Making the steering wheel have an animation is quite simple, it doesn't need any code either you just define it as "steering".

First you start the animation with the steering wheel fully turned 90 degrees to the right, or whatever you want it fully turned to the right at. If you're using Ports plugin you create a marker at this frame and name it "steering:start", next you move over about 10 frames then animate the wheel turning fully to the left and you place another marker saying "steering:end". Make sure that the steering wheel turns correctly from right to left in the amount of frames you use.

I would resent window wipers in a world where the rain goes through everything, so it's not something I would implement, but I could help you with it

speedo/tacho are probably something we could reasonably do, but I'd have to go about it in a way I've never done before. The number of objects on the Crown Vic is what turns it into crash-inducing garbage.

I've got steering wheels down pat, though. I could make a tutorial if enough people were interested